Posted on

Niger Basin Authority

Origin and Development
The River Niger Commission as it was originally called, came into existence in 1964 following an agreement reached by 13 member countries of Africa. The member countries are: The Republic of Benin, Chad Republic, Guinea, Cote d’Ivoire, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Togo, Burkina Faso and Cameroon. In 1980, the name was changed to Niger Basin Authority. The headquarters is in Niamey, Niger Republic.