Posted on

Organs of the Niger Basin Authority

The authority has three major organs namely the Conference of Heads of State, the Council of Ministers, and the Executive Secretariat.

(i) The Conference of Heads of State
It is the highest law making body which meets every two years to promulgate rules, or resolve issues affecting the authority.

(ii) The Council of Ministers
Ministers from each member country formed the Council of Ministers of the Niger Basin Authority. They meet once a year. Each member country elects a chairman from among the ministers, in rotation, to represent them in meetings.

(iii) The Executive Secretariat
This organ is headed and controlled by an Executive Secretary assisted by his Deputy. The major aim of this organ is to carry out and implement the decisions reached by the Conference of Head of States and the Council of Ministers.