Posted on

The European Economic Community (EEC)

The European Economic Community (EEC) commonly called the European Common Market was founded in 1957 by six member countries. They are, France, Italy, Belgium, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Later, in 19?3, Britain, Denmark and the Republic of Ireland joined the organisation.

The treaty establishing the EEC was signed in Rome. The agreement provides for the admission of other countries willing to accept the provisions of the treaty. Following the advantages accorded to EEC, eighteen African countries accepted the provision and became associate members.